TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE DLA

As per the Byelaw of the Dravidian Linguistic Association of India, Office Bearers have to be elected in the month of June every year. Usually it is done during the Annual General Body Meeting of the DLA held along with the All India Conference of Dravidian Linguists. We were compelled to postpone the 48th AICDL and it appears that there will be Government restrictions to have any assemblage of people exceeding a limited number for a few more months to come. Since the DLA has around 1400 active members, we have to expect at least 100 people for its General Body Meeting which may not be allowed in the near future.

In such circumstances, in order to avoid administrative deadlock, the following official businesses have to be completed within the month of June itself. They are:

- (1) Approval of the Audited statements of Income and Expenditure statements for the year 2019-2020.
- (2) Approval of the Budget proposal for the year 2020-2021.
- (3) Election of Office Bearers for the coming year (July 2020 June 2021)
- (4) Nomination of Auditor for 2020-21

A combined meeting of the available members of the Managing Committee of the DLA and the Governing Council of International School of Dravidian Linguistics (ISDL) held at ISDL on 3-6-2020 has considered the matter and taken the following decisions:

- i) The present Office Bearers of the DLA and the members of the Governing Council of the ISDL may continue for one more year for which the approval of the members may be sought.
- (ii) Get the approval for the audited Income and Expenditure statements from the members.
- (iii) Get the approval for the Budget proposal for the year 2020-2021.

In view of this, it is decided to publish the Income and Expenditure statement for the year 2019-2020 and also the Budget proposal for the year 2020-2021 through our website <code>www.ijdl.org</code> and also through the DLA News. So also the meeting decided that due to the prevailing special circumstances, the present Office Bearers of the DLA and the Governing Council Members of the ISDL may continue for one more year by getting the consent of the members of the DLA and ISDL.

(iv) M/s L.U. Krishnan & Co. may be appointed as the Auditors for the DLA and ISDL for the year 2020-2021.

It is also decided that if possible an online meeting of the members of the DLA and the Governing Council members of ISDL may be convened on a suitable day on or before 30^{th} June and present the views obtained from the members and to get new suggestions if any.

As per the decision of the combined meeting of the available members of the DLA and the Governing Council of ISDL, we hereby furnish the list of the present Office Bearers to elect them for the period 2020-2021.

DRAVIDIAN LINGUISTIC ASSOCIATION OF INDIA Office-Bearers to be elected for 2020-2021

President R.C. Sharma (Delhi)

Dean Naduvattom Gopalakrishnan (Kerala)

Vice-Presidents K. Nachimuthu (Tamil Nadu)

Bhupinder Singh Khaira (Punjab)

A. Usha Devi (Telangana) K. Ravindran (Kerala)

Secretaries Ganesan Ambedkar (Andhra Pradesh)

K. Rangan (Tamil Nadu)

Umarany Pappuswamy (Karnataka)

K. Rajyarama (Telangana) S. Kunjamma (Kerala)

Treasurer S. Abdul Samed (Kerala)

Managing Committee Members

G.K. Panikkar (Kerala), M. Rama (Kerala), L. Ramamoorthy (Tamil Nadu), B. Gopinathan Nair (Kerala), Vikram Visaji (Karnataka), Kakali Mukherjee (West Bengal), S. Rajendran (Tamil Nadu), Biswanandan Dash (Odisha), S. Prema (Kerala).

Your approval or non-approval may please be intimated by e-mail or by post on or before 25th June 2020. Those who do not send any objection, it will be considered as agreeing to the proposed panel to be elected as Office Bearers for the year 2020-2021.

GOVERNING COUNCIL MEMBERS (International School of Dravidian Linguistics)

1. Chairman **Prof. H.M. Maheshwaraiah**

2. Director **Prof. Naduvattom Gopalakrishnan**

President (DLA)

Vice-President-Correspondent

Secretary

Treasurer

Prof. R.C. Sharma

Shri. K. Ravindran

Dr. S. Kunjamma

Dr. S. Abdul Samed

3. Nominated Members

A. Vice-Chancellors

- a. Vice Chancellor, University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
- b. Vice Chancellor, Tamil University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
- c. Vice Chancellor, Dravidian University, Kuppam, Andhra Pradesh
- d. Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad
- e. Vice Chancellor, Central University of Karnataka, Kalaburagi, Karnataka

B. Experts

a. **Prof. B. Ramakrishna Reddy** Ex Chairman, ISDL

b. **Prof. V. Karthikeyan Nair** Director, State Institute of Languages,

Thiruvananthapuram

C. Heads of Departments / Research Institutions

a. Head, Department of Linguistics, University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

- b. Head, Department of Linguistics, Dravidian University, Kuppam, Andhra Pradesh
- c. Head, Department of English, Central University of Karnataka, Kalaburagi, Karnataka
- d. Dean, Faculty of Oriental Studies, Kannur University

4. Government Secretaries / Nominees of five States

- a. Secretary for Higher Education, Government of Kerala
- b. Secretary for Tamil Culture, Government of Tamil Nadu
- c. Secretary for Higher Education, Government of Karnataka
- d. Secretary for Higher Education, Government of Andhra Pradesh
- e. Secretary for Higher Education, Government of West Bengal
- 5. **ISDL Faculty Members**
- a. Prof. G.K. Panikkar
- b. Prof. M. Rama

Your approval or non-approval of electing the above Office Bearers for one more year, the members may please inform through email or by post to Prof. Naduvattom Gopalakrishnan, Dean – DLA and Director – ISDL on or before 25th June 2020. If no reply is obtained from a member, it will be presumed that the member agrees for the continuance of the present team of Office Bearers for one more year i.e., 2020-2021.

Similarly if no reply is obtained with regard to (1) Audited Income and Expenditure Statements for the year 2019-2020 of DLA and ISDL, (2) Budget proposals for the year 2020-2021 and (3) Appointment of M/s L.U. Krishnan & Co. as the Auditor, it will be presumed that the members give their consent to items (1), (2) and (3) mentioned in this paragraph. Replies and suggestions, if any, may please be sent to Prof. Naduvattom Gopalakrishnan, Dean – DLA & Director – ISDL on or before 25th June 2020.

Naduvattom Gopalakrishnan Dean, DLA & Director, ISDL